Using Public Transport when Pregnant or with a Pram!

akash

Reaction score
(I have been given permission by Urchin for this post)

Hello Pregnant Ladies and Parents,

I am currently a undergraduate student at Coventry University studying Transport Design. As part of one of my assignments, I have been researching "Parents and Mothers to be: the problems they face on public transport". The focus of this assignment is on redesigning the interior of buses/trains to make them easier and more assessable for pregnant women and mothers.

So far I have found that the main worries and concerns for parents and mothers to be are:
• Unhelpful staff/ bus drivers
• Passengers pretending not to see them and not offering them their seats
• Seating often too low making it difficult to stand up
• Trouble lifting prams onto train/buses

I would greatly appreciate if you can complete my questionnaire (see bellow) in order to help me further my research.

Please feel free to talk about personal experiences and any additional information you may be willing to share.

Thank you for your time and help

Questionnaire for Pregnant Women and Parents

How often have you travelled on public transport when pregnant or since having your baby? And for what purpose?

What do you need to carry when you go out?

What are your likes/dislikes about travelling on public transport?

How do you find other passengers react towards you and your child?

Have you ever had to stand when you were pregnant?

Do you feel anxious about asking people for there seats?

How are the baby changing facilities at Stations? Are they clean? Is there enough space?

Are the seats comfortable on train and in station? Not too much pressure on back, bladder?

Do you have trouble lifting the pram onto the vehicle?

Is there enough space to put the pram? Is it comfortable enough? i.e. have baby facing you?

On trains do you pre-book? Do you know which carriage you need to be getting on if you don’t?