Feeding options

Lilelephant

Reaction score
So am starting to think about how I want to feed Orlando.

I alway thought I would bottle feed but recently I have been considering breast feeding. The only thong for me is that I am worried it would tie me down ESP as I have to go back to work when he is 4 months old.
Also I want OH to be able to feed him. So I was thinking of breastfeeding in the day to start and expressing for night feeds so OH can share it and the changing him to formula when he is a couple of months old for when i go back to work. obv as I have no experience of feeding I don't know if this is a do able plan!!

That's what my friend did and she said it worked for her but took her a while to stop breasts filling up etc and had to do a bit of expressing for a while once she had started her on formula or something like that. I'm seeing her at wknd so il ask for more info x

You need to be careful about introducing a bottle too early when you still want to breastfeed due to nipple confusion. Is say give it a go and see how it works for you, you may find your able to express for when you go back to work or you may find it doesn't work for you and switch to bottles.

I would try to do both BF and Expressed BF from bottle quite early on to be honest, I know loads of ladies on here, including myself who left it later and couldn't get baby to take a bottle at all, and it keeps your options open then, and boob is a good thing - good plan

Devon will only take boob or beaker !

Last edited:
That's exactly what I did with my first. And it worked a treat! never had any issues with nipple confusion, and he had the benefit of both breast milk and formula. Planning on doing the same with this one :)

Im going to formula feed, i had too much trouble with my first two so just bottle fed riley and it worked out fine.

Do whats right for you at the end of the day.

Your work have to provide you with an appropriate place to express on your return too!