plane travel - long haul

siany

Reaction score
Hi all, I am a newbie here :wave: . Hope you are all feeling well and enjoying the 2nd tri! I was wondering if anyone has expereince of flying abroad whilst pregnant. I told my boss I was pregannat last week and he was horrified that I have a holiday booked in Bali in April. I will be 20weeks when i go, and 23 weeks when I fly back (lucky me!) . I was really looking forward to this. However, my boss said this could be really dangerous and I should consider cancelling the holiday. I am going to discuss it in depth with my MW at my appointment next week, but was wondering what you all thought.

:wave: welcome to 2nd Tri.

I have just brought this problen up this morning (don't know if you've seen my post??) Before 28 weeks it seems like it's ok (although long haul might be hard work!! I struggle when I'm not pregnant.. I'd check with your midwife first. )
I've just spoke to my midwife about flying at 30 weeks (only to France) and she wasn't impressed and adviced me against it :(
I hadn't booked anything, but I'm disappointed cos I was looking forward to it. I daren't go tho cos if the midwife says it's not a good idea it might be dangerous for my baby! After 28 weeks you need a doctors certificate to say you are fit enough to fly and she said i might struggle getting insurance-so at least you wouldn't struggle with these problems.
I'm looking into UK alternatives now!!
Hope you get it sorted!

thanks sarah. I have just noticed your post :doh: I am usual OK on long haul flights as I have the capacity to sleep standing up if needs be!!!! I think you are right I need to check it out with the MW. Sorry to hear your trip to France is off. What about the Euro star. I have been on this and it is really comfortable and stops in Paris.