Subsequent Pregnancy after neonatal loss

skyla1978

Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm new to this form and am looking for some advice. In April 2011 I gave birth to my son at 40 weeks + 6 days. Unfortunately, we were not monitored adequately during the birth and he was starved of oxygen due to a cord accident. He stayed with us for two days, but too much damage had been done and we had to let him go. This past year has been the hardest in my life and I still don't feel like I've fully comes to terms with what happened. However, on the day of the one year anniversary of his death I found out I was pregnant.
Initially I was absolutely estatic and felt like the luckiest girl in the world. However, I am now 6 weeks and the fear and anxiety have set in. We went to see our GP last week so he could book us into the hospital. I asked him whether I would be able to have a planned c-section this time, he didn't think it would be a problem but said that ultimately it would be down to the OB/midwife to decide. So, I have a few questions...
- Has anyone been through something similar and gone on to have a healthy pregnancy/baby?
- Will this pregnancy be considered 'high risk' and will I be monitored more closely?
- Is it likely that I will be able to have a c-section?

I have found a lot of information on this from American websites, but obviously their maternity care differs from NHS care. Mainly I just want to know whether there is a standard protocol for subsequent pregnancies after a neonatal death?

Thank you for taking the time to read my post xx

I have no experience in this but just wanted to say that I am sorry for your loss and hope you get all the support you need this time around!

I am unable to answer your questions, but didn't want to read and run. Sorry for loss, I can't imagine the year you've had. However, congratulations on your new bean. I hope this pregnancy is everything you want it to be xxx